Category:ensemble (instrumentaal), hedendaagse muziek, repertoire
Genre(s):21ste eeuw / hedendaags, 20ste eeuw
Actual/previous members:Shirly Laub, Frédéric D'Ursel, Elisabeth Smalt, Martijn Vink, Amy Norrington, Koenraad Hofman, Toon Fret, Nathalie Lefèvre, Annie Lavoisier


Oxalys was founded in 1993 at the Brussels Conservatory of Music. Since then the ensemble has developed into one of the most esteemed professional chamber music groups in Flanders. It performs on some of the world’s finest platforms and plays at the most prestigious festivals. The ensemble’s primary aim is to relate the European cultural story since the Enlightenment, with the most exacting of standards and with the greatest directness. Oxalys also want to musically interpret the connections and contrasts across borders and eras in this story. The ensemble varies, depending on the repertoire, from duo to nonet.

Selective discography

NonettoNonetto (2021)
20th century
Oxalys, Nino Rota, Hanns Eisler, Bohuslav Martinů
Jean Cras - La Flûte de Pan & QuintettesJean Cras - La Flûte de Pan & Quintettes (2019)
20th century
Oxalys, Jean Cras
A conversation between friendsA conversation between friends (2018)
Joseph Jongen - La MusiqueJoseph Jongen - La Musique (2017)
20th century
Oxalys, Joseph Jongen, Claire Lefilliâtre
Joseph Jongen - Chamber musicJoseph Jongen - Chamber music (2017)
20th century
Oxalys, Joseph Jongen
If the owl calls againIf the owl calls again (2014)
Oxalys, Modest Moessorgski, Christianne Stotijn, Maurice Delage, Maurice Ravel, Frank Martin, André Caplet, Frank Bridge (...)
Peter en de wolfPeter en de wolf (2014)
20th century
Stefaan Degand, Sergei Prokofiev, Christian Lahaye, Chris Dusauchoit, Oxalys
Georges Antoine (°Liège 1892 - Bruges 1918)Georges Antoine (°Liège 1892 - Bruges 1918) (2014)
Oxalys, Georges Antoine
Tusschen de TweeTusschen de Twee (2011)
21st century / contemporary
Oxalys, Koen De Cauter, Els Van Laethem, Dick van der Harst
Max RegerMax Reger (2009)
20th century
Oxalys, Toon Fret, Nathalie Lefèvre, Shirly Laub, Frédéric D'Ursel, Elisabeth Smalt, Martijn Vink, Max Reger (...)

Related Items

News:Annelies van Parys en AMUZ (25.03.2014)
Oxalys wint de Internationale Schallplattenpreis Toblacher Komponierhäuschen 2009 (25.08.2009)
Press Clips:
(Wat is dit?)
Flanders - Cultural crossroads in the heart of Europe (06.2009)