Yvan Vander Sanden

Neerpelt, 1972
Genre(s):21ste eeuw / hedendaags


Yvan Vander Sanden was born in Neerpelt, Belgium in 1972. From 1990 until 1996, he studied music theory at the Lemmensinstitute in Leuven. He was also studying with Kurt Bikkembergs at that time.

After graduation, Yvan started teaching and was given an opportunity at his job to study information technology. During these years, he was very active in promoting the open source ideology in an educational environment.

In 2003, Yvan starts to combine his knowledge of I.T. and music, develops a strong interest in electronic music and writes two large works for choir and tape. In september 2004 he starts to study music again, this time taking composition classes with Godfried Willem Raes at the conservatory of Ghent.

His recent compositions have won several contests: 'Boycot' is one of the winning pieces in the Euprint composition contest 2005, '4' is one of the winning compositions at the composition contest 'Vlaams-Brabant' 2005, and also at the Visser-Neerlandia composition contest. The latter was performed by the Flemish Radio Choir in 2006.

Yvan also sings with the Capella Di voce, conducted by Kurt Bikkembergs. And since 2001 he conducts the vocal group Markant in Leuven. Markant is already known in Belgium for its original concerts and focus on contemporary music.

All his music can be downloaded from http://youngmusic.org

Selectieve discografie als componist

Lonely RobotsLonely Robots (2010)
21st century / contemporary
Godfried-Willem Raes, Yvan Vander Sanden, Sebastian Bradt, Kristof Lauwers, Moniek Darge, Troy Rodgers, Xavier Verhelst
De nieuwe oogst. Nationale Koorcompositiewedstrijd 2007De nieuwe oogst. Nationale Koorcompositiewedstrijd 2007 (2007)
20th century
Capella di voce, Jacqueline Fontyn, Ludo Claesen, Ludo Geloen, Kurt Bikkembergs, Sebastiaan Van Steenberge, Martin Slootmaekers, Noor Sommereyns (...)
De nieuwe oogst. Nationale koorcompositiewedstrijd 2005De nieuwe oogst. Nationale koorcompositiewedstrijd 2005 (2005)
20th century
Capella di voce, Kurt Bikkembergs, Jan Van Landeghem, Dirk Van Croonenborch, Vic Nees, Peter Lejaeghere, Noor Sommereyns, Kristiaan Van Ingelgem (...)