Category:ensemble (instrumentaal)
Genre(s):21ste eeuw / hedendaags, 20ste eeuw
Actual/previous members:Toon Callier, Johannes Westendorp, Bruno Nelissen, Kobe Van Cauwenberghe


This electric guitar quartet consists of Johannes Westendorp (NL), Bruno Nelissen (NL), Matthias Koole (BE) and Toon Callier (BE). The starting point is their common interest in new music: composed, improvised, experimental and performative, high and low culture. Zwerm is aware of the similarities between these different faces of "new" music and presents them in a meaningful way. The electric guitar, originally the instrument of choice for low culture and underground music, has recently also found its way to composed music, thus bridging the gap between low culture/improvised music and contemporary/composed music to a certain extent. Even so, there is still a cleavage. ZWERM wants to work concurrently in both directions. Their repertoire can be played on different scenes, from rock noise clubs to contemporary music festivals.

Selective discography

Great ExpectationsGreat Expectations (2021)
Rock / Alternative
Badminton in TehranBadminton in Tehran (2018)
21st century / contemporary
Underwater Princess WaltzUnderwater Princess Waltz (2013)
21st century / contemporary
Zwerm, Karl H. Berger, Alvin Curran, Nick Didkovsky, Daniel Goode, Clinton McCallum, Larry Polansky, Christian Wolff (...)
Prins Stefan - FremdkörperPrins Stefan - Fremdkörper (2012)
21st century / contemporary
Daan Janssens, Stefan Prins, Nadar Ensemble, Jaan Bossier, Agartha, Enno Poppe, Zwerm, Stefan Prins (...)
Larry Polansky - The world's longest melodyLarry Polansky - The world's longest melody (2010)
21st century / contemporary
Zwerm, [sic], Larry Polansky

Related Items

News:Stefan Prins wint de tweejaarlijkse Kranichstein Musikpreisträger 2010 voor compositie te Darmstadt (10.08.2010)